Thursday, August 03, 2006

Update list for the 2006 SP National Invitational

Press Release

3rd Annual Susan Polgar National Invitational for Girls Chess Championship
Aug. 6-11 – Oak Brook, IL

(Crossville, TN) The third annual GM Susan Polgar National Invitational for Girls (under 19) will begin August 6 at the Double Tree Hotel in Oak Brook, IL. This is a culmination of a series of regional and state qualifying events over the past 12 months that involved over 3,000 vying to represent their respective states.

The young women chess competitors will be competing for the title and also for a full tuition and fees scholarship valued at $40,000, to the University of Texas in Dallas (UTD), a prominent supporter of scholastic chess. For more information on UTD please contact, The University of Texas at Dallas, 2601 North Floyd Road, Richardson, TX 75083-0688 or call at 972-883-2111. You can also visit them at their website at

This tournament is co-sponsored by The Susan Polgar Foundation and the U.S. Chess Trust. You can find information about The Susan Polgar Foundation by visiting Also check out for information on the U.S. Chess Trust. Several side activities for the Polgar attendees rounded out the week of fun and competition for the girls.

On Sunday, August 6 at 9 am a reception will be held to welcome those below who have accepted the challenge. The closing ceremony will take place at around 5 PM on August 11.

Alabama: Hannah M. Hellwig
Alaska: Alison Parshall
Arizona: Amanda Mateer
Arkansas: Emi Stuart
Northern California: Louiza Livschitz
Colorado: Kaila Smith
Connecticut: Alexandra Wiener
Delaware: Alisa Spitelle
Florida: Eunice Rodriguez
Georgia: Ananya Roy
Hawaii: Marissa Al Wai
Idaho: Erica D. Barkell
Illinois: Cheryl Liu
Indiana: Krista Selby
Iowa: Dhrooti V. Vyas
Kansas: Blythe E. Buscher
Kentucky: Connie Wu
Louisiana: Jordana Williams
Maine: Margaret Bryan
Massachusetts: Jessica Wamala
Michigan: Ashley Carter
Minnesota: Cailin McGrath
Nebraska: Elizabeth Oliver
Nevada: Sandra Hernandez
New Jersey: Karsten A. McVay
New Mexico: Anna Smoak
New York: Elina Kats
North Carolina: Laura L. Lee
Ohio: Shizuyo Ichikawa
Oklahoma: Rachel Farell
Oregon: Taylor Bailey
Pennsylvania: Emily J. Chu
Rhode Island: Kathleen Coccio
Southern California: Jessica Zhu
Tennessee: Graham Gibson
Texas: Courtney Jamison, Anajali Datta, Katherine Qiu, Evan Xiang, Victoria Zhang
Utah: Alice Chen, Janice Chen
Vermont: Tanya Avilova
Virginia: Abby Marshall
Wisconsin: Tracie Klaver
Washington: Karen Marcjan

We are still missing the names for:District of Columbia, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Dakota, South Carolina, South Dakota, West Virginia, Wyoming.

Please contact me or Mr. Paul Truong [Chairperson of the Polgar Commitee] if your name is omitted.
Posted by Picasa

No comments: